Chow’d at Chau

One of the things I was most sad about after turning vegetarian/vegan was not being able to have phở. For those of you who are unfamiliar with phở, it is a Vietnamese noodle soup that is usually served with rare slices of beef on top, which you dunk under the hot broth to cook. If you live in Vancouver, you’ve probably had phở. It’s such a staple comfort food. The best part? It’s almost always about $6 for a huge bowl! Kind of insane if you ask me.

Being a traditionally meat based dish, it is needless to say that I haven’t had it in a few years. But just recently The Georgia Straight brought to my attention that there are actually a handphởl of phở shops that have begun serving vegan phở around town!

The few vegan phởs I’ve tried were “meh” to “oh not bad”. Nothing to high-five someone about. Maybe it’s due to my high expectations from my memory of how glorious tasting phở was before. Also, I like to think of myself as a decent cook so that might have an effect on my food standards as well.

Just when I thought I’d have to put up with mediocrity, I discover Chau Veggie Express!


Not only is their phở major league tasty, their entire menu is vegetarian! Of course vegan options were offered. This is not your run of the mill Vietanmese Restaurant folks. On top of being fully veg friendly, they are modern, sleek, clean and play the top 40’s! I’m pretty sure there were some Yeah Yeah Yeahs playing. The owners say that they frequent Vietnam and have always lived with Buddhist while they’re there so they have grown familiar with veg variations of traditional Viet cuisine…and they want to share it with everyone in Vancouver!!! Cripes! I’m probably going to be spending a lot of money here…


Service: 3.5/5
Prices: 3.75/5
Ambience : 3.5/5
Food: 4.25/5
Jon?: 3.75/5

This one is a 4.25 out of 5 alert kitties!

This entry was written by Ncyc and published on August 9, 2011 at 12:57 pm. It’s filed under Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

